Chocolate Orange Marrow Cake

I was given an absolutely ma-hooo-sive marrow by my boss at work as she has marrows coming out of her ears. Never one to turn down free food I happily accepted and then came the issue of what the hell do you do with a marrow! After doing a bit of recipe hunting online I saw 2 recipes from Thrifty Household and BBCGoodFood (links below) that I liked the look of and took elements from each and the end result was this Chocolate Orange Marrow Cake.

Marrow & Marrow Cake All in all we managed to get 3 meals worth out of this marrow! But the others were savoury dishes so therefore not as exciting as cake but may make an appearance on the blog if I get more marrows. (Also forgot to take a pic of the entire marrow and had already used a third).

Time 45 mins preparation, 45 mins bake

Makes 1 Loaf (12 slices)

Ingredients

Marrow Cake

  • 150g Butter
  • 100g Caster Sugar
  • 1 Orange (Zest and Juice)
  • 3 Eggs
  • 250g Marrow (Grated and Pressed)
  • 250g Self Raising Flour
  • 2 tbsp Cocoa Powder
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp Cinnamon
  • 1 tsp Ginger
  • ½ tsp Nutmeg

 Ganache

  • 100g Dark Chocolate
  • 75 ml Cream
  • 2 tbsp Orange Juice

Method

If like me you read the ingredients and go ‘What do you mean by grated and pressed marrow?’ then don’t worry all is about to be revealed. This recipe used a third of my huge marrow so don’t get too eager, unless you have another use for grated pressed marrow (frittata off the top of my head or you could just ratio up the rest of the ingredients and make more marrow cake). Peel the marrow and remove the fibrous seeded core. Then using my trusty IKEA grater I grated the peeled marrow and then emptied onto kitchen roll. Another layer on top and gently apply pressure to squeeze out some of the liquid. Zest and juice the orange and all the ingredients for the cake are ready. Also preheat the oven to 160oC.

Grated MarrowI have used butter in this recipe as I had butter to use up but you can also use vegetable oil which is more traditional for vegetable based cakes (but if doing so mix the wet ingredients and the dry ingredients separately first). I creamed the butter and sugar together then added the orange zest, most of the orange juice (keep 2 tbsp for the ganache) and vanilla extract and beat again, then add the eggs and beat some more. (Now have ‘You can’t stop the beat’ from Hairspray in my head!) Add the grated marrow and you’ve guessed it, beat again!

Baking the cakeI weighed the flour and then added the spices and some extra special Ghiradelli cocoa powder (a souvenir from my last trip to the states). I then sieved all of this into the marrow mixture and folded in, mainly because I did not want to cover the kitchen in flour by using my hand mixer. Spoon/pour the mixture into a lined loaf tin and bake in the oven for 45 mins. Once it can pass the skewer test, or in my case the strand of spaghetti, take it out and leave to cool in the tin for 10 mins before turning out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Now for the ganache, I melted 100g of dark chocolate in a bowl over a simmering pan of water, then added 75ml of cream and folded it in until it was incorporated completely. Finally I stirred in the orange juice and put it to one side to thicken. I put mine in the fridge and it thickened too much to truffle consistency, so I had to reheat it over simmering water to make it more pliable. I wanted a thick ganache that I could spread in a layer on the top without it running down the sides but I also need to be able to spread it in the first place!

Chocolate Orange Marrow CakeThe finished cake was lovely and moist and went extremely well with a bit of left over cream. In all honesty though this ganache was not the greatest I have made and next time I will try to ramp up the orange as it didn’t really come through.

Links

 

This entry was posted in Cakes, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chocolate Orange Marrow Cake

  1. lucyparissi says:

    I love baking with vegetables. I went through a whole phase a few years ago where I baked with everything from potato (makes a good Victoria sponge) to courgette (my favourite) and squash. I think they make incredibly moist, really lovely cakes. Yours looks like it would absolutely yummy with a cup of coffee or tea. Thanks so much for linking to #CookBlogShare

    Like

  2. This sounds delicious! Love the combination of rich chocolate and veggies 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

