Nutella Star Bread

It’s bread week on #GBBO so as part of my BakeAlong and @SBCtakeover challenge I was looking for a bread recipe that would stand out. Not easy when there are so many talented bakers around and so many things you can do with bread. I saw someone had made a Nutella version of @richardpburr’s pesto pinwheel. After a bit of searching I found a couple of recipes online and yes it is a showstopper but I’m cooking for 2 not 8! (Although I would happily eat it all my waistline would probably complain) My smaller loaf still has the wow effect and even netted me a BakeTalk Golden Mixer award!

Nutella Star Bread

Nutella Star Bread

Time 30 mins preparation, 90 mins proving, 12 mins bake

Makes 1 loaf (serves 4)

Ingredients

  • 225g Strong White Flour
  • 100ml Milk
  • 1 Egg separated
  • 8g Active Dry Yeast
  • 30g Butter
  • 35g Caster Sugar
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 100g Nutella

Method

To activate the yeast I warmed the milk in the pan to 35oC with a teaspoon of sugar. Going back to high school chemistry (was a geek then and still am) it is important to get the temperature correct as yeast is an enzyme and above 40oC kills it but just below it works at its best. I decanted into a jug and added the yeast, a thorough stir and left it to bubble away for 15 minutes.

Whilst the yeast was doing its thing, I prepared the rest of the ingredients. I sifted the flour into a mixing bowl (what else could I possibly sift flour into! J). Then I stirred in the remaining sugar and salt. I added the egg yolk and softened butter and then poured in the very alive yeast/milk combo. As it is very wet to start with I’d advise using a spoon initially but as with all bread I get best results using my hands to finally bring it together to a dough.

On a well floured surface I kneaded the dough for 10 minutes. For some kneading tips look on you tube.

I transferred the dough to an oiled bowl and brushed the dough with oil to stop it forming a crust, covered with Clingfilm and left it for an hour to double in size. (It is at this point in bread making I get on with other chores or pop to the shops or more likely catch up on twitter).

DoughAfter the hour is up I prepared the baking tray (cut baking parchment to size). I transferred the dough to a freshly floured surface to knock back and knead again for 5 mins. I rolled the dough up into a cylinder, divided it in half by eye and divide the halves again to get 4 roughly equal balls of dough.

I took one of the balls of dough and rolled it out to a circle (ish) around 18cm diameter and 2mm thick. I moved the dough onto the backing parchment. (It is a hell of a lot easier to pick up and move a thin rolled out dough if it is wrapped around a rolling pin).

I used a 17cm Pyrex bowl for a template and pressed down lightly into the dough, just enough to leave an indentation. Now the magic ingredient – Nutella! I spread a thin layer of Nutella within the indentation. Some recipes I’ve seen online recommend warming the Nutella first in a water bath to make it runnier but I used a fresh jar and it was already very pliable.

Rolling OutI rolled out the second ball of dough as before (18cm and 2mm thick) and transferred to the baking parchment and overlaid the first Nutella covered dough. Covered again in a thin layer of Nutella and repeated this process until I had 4 layers of dough with 3 layers of Nutella sandwiched between.

I used my template bowl to trim the edges leaving a perfect circle. I marked the centre with a small espresso cup indentation and then not crossing the central divide the circle into quarters. I divided each quarter in half and half again until I had 16 arms fanning out from my central dough.

Preparing the TwistsTo make the star shape I twisted a pair of arms in opposite directions and then added another half twist in the same direction to bring the edges of the arms vertical. I pinched these together and shaped to a point. I repeated 8 times to get the star shape. I covered with Clingfilm and left it to prove for another 30 mins.

Star TwistsMeanwhile I preheated the oven to 180oC then just before the star loaf was to go in I brushed with egg white to glaze. (Yay to using all the egg). Bake in the oven for 15 minutes, leave to cool and then ENJOY!

20140824_145621721_iOSGoldenMixerAwardLinks

This entry was posted in Bread, Recipes and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nutella Star Bread

  1. Cat says:

    This looks amazing. I love Nutella so will definitely be giving this a go!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Look absolutely fantastic 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. lucyparissi says:

    I have made this (using my own dough recipe) in this exact shape and it was a huge hit. Yours looks awesome. Thanks for linking to #CookBlogShare – check out the other entries on Pinterest http://www.pinterest.com/supergolden88/cookblogshare/
    and Google+
    https://plus.google.com/u/0/communities/107696809290414888934

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Laura says:

    This looks absolutely perfect. I wish I was around to steal a piece =)

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Great bakes, great prize! | BeerandBaking.net

Leave a Reply

